Tag Archives: Syren City

Syren City To Release New EP, Escape

Syren City wear their hearts on their sleeves and channel engaging slamming guitar thrusts with snarly melodic blasts to stunning effect. The Bristol based quintet’s sound neatly amalgamates genres and by doing so it’s innovative, progressive and fresh.

Syren City

Syren City

Ever since their formation in 2011, Syren City have attacked the UK with true vigor. The angular rock crew regularly hit the nation’s highways and byways playing numerous venues throughout Wales and England. Along the way, the five-some have supported Turbowolf, The Alarm, Max Raptor, Futures, Young Legionnaire, Attack Attack, Blitz Kids, The People The Poet and Gavin Butler/The Blackout as well as playing at festivals alongside Brand New, Don Broco, We Are the Ocean, We Are the In Crowd, Mallory Knox, Canterbury, Kids in Glass Houses and Feed The Rhino, to name a few.

Now with a loyal army of fans in tow, the alt-rockers are intent in sowing their seeds even further afield. With a new record in place in the shape of their spanking EP Escape, the band are destined to propel themselves to the upper echelons of the UK scene. Escape spews out acute oft-kilter phrasing, engrossing guitar parts and hammering rhythm work, all cleverly woven together with anthemic hooks. From the pounding high tempo groove and compelling vocal lines of Bleed to the razor sharp riffage and infectious guile of Our Disease and the angular Fire In Your Name, which will contort, twist and wrap itself around your ears, the five piece ensure that this record grabs you by the balls. Long Way Down further showcases the band’s depth as dual vocal parts are pitched against spiky riffery and elephantine breakdowns. By the time Asphodel passes through your pores, you’ll have their final refrain in your head for an eternity; just listen and see. The sassy post-hardcore outfit aim to ensure that the record will be everywhere so expect widespread UK shows throughout the year and just watch them ascend.

Escape will be released on September 15.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, News