Tag Archives: Folk rock

Introducing…Little May

Sydney band Little May have been hailed by international taste makers as one of Australia’s breakout acts of 2014. The band have had close to a million plays on 2013’s singles Boardwalks and Hide, grabbing the number two posts on both Hype Machine and the AirIT independent radio charts.

Little May

Folk trio, Little May

They have just released their highly anticipated new single, Dust. In trademark Little May style, the track embodies what the outfit have become so widely respected for – vulnerable and honest lyrics with an undercurrent of otherworldly darkness. Challenging the listener to hear past the otherwise beautifully constructed song, Dust has a depth that may not be apparent on first listen but will stay with you long after the dust settles.

The band have been steadily building their live shows with a successful headline run of the east coast last year, support tour with Mikhael Paskalev and an appearance on the Sydney Laneway Festival line up after being Unearthed by triple j. They picked up a nomination for Next Best Thing at the Fbi SMAC awards, will play Splendour in the Grass next month and have just been announced on the Big Sound 2014 line up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, News

Introducing…Old Man Canyon

In early 2012, Jett Pace began what would eventually turn into Old Man Canyon. Since the release of the band’s Phantom & Friends EP, Old Man Canyon’s music has been featured on a variety of television programs including MTV’s Awkward, Showtime’s Shameless and Bravo’s Suits, among others.

The band toured throughout Canada in support of the Phantom & Friends EP and released a striking visual for the EP’s title track shortly after. The music video has caught the attention of several industry tastemakers and prominent media outlets since its release.

In addition to recording it’s debut full-length, the band plans to tour throughout North America in 2014. Make sure to keep an eye on Old Man Canyon as they continue to build upon an already solid foundation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, News

Co-pilgrim – Plumes Album Review

Co-pilgrim’s highly anticipated third album Plumes is set for release on May 26. Following on from the success of last years’, A Fairer Sea, lead single Grew Into Something New/I Know Love has already been gaining some positive attention with plays on BBC 6 and Amazing Radio and has had some extremely kind reviews from the likes of Louder Than War and ourselves, Rocking Republic, respectively. If you dig those Summer vibes then look no further. This is the album for your summer.

Lead single Grew Into Something New/I Know Love are the happy songs on the record. I Know Love has an incredibly upbeat, 60s summer feel to it. This track will guarantee to have your head bobbing, you just can’t help it. It will instantly brighten your day. I Know Love wouldn’t sound a miss on BBC Radio 2 when they play the classic songs from the 50s and 60s.

Grew Into Something New has a slightly more modern feel. There are still influences from the 70s heard in this track though. It’s very catchy and sounds hauntingly familiar, “I grew into something new/Oh yeah/Grew into something new…” with the rolling drums that give it that pop/rock feel that seems safe and familiar.

Come Out Alive is a slow, solemn track with incredibly sweet lyrics, “Good nights and good friends/We have the time/We have time”. It’s instantly likeable.

On the other hand though, I Saw You Heavenly Girl has more of an upbeat feel to it. The guitars (both electric and acoustic) give it that summer vibe, especially the blues slide guitar. The vocals are relaxing as they sing the lyrics, “I saw you heavenly girl/Riding a black and white horse…”

If you thought I Saw You Heavenly Girl was summery, make way for Pushover. This song screams the 60s beach vibe. It’s the hippy tune of the album.

Towards the end of the album, Dancin’ Hoods will remind you of hazy summer evenings with it’s sad, summery tones. Imagery of fields full of luscious greens and sprouting plants come to mind, “Or the blades of grass/Or the setting sun…” Let yourself go with this track – it’s perfect.

Co-pilgrim’s Plumes will be released on May 26.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Reviews

Swaying Wires To Release New Single, Fear Of Flying, Next Month

Swaying Wires are to release their new single, Fear Of Flying, on February 10. The single is taken from the forthcoming album Some Blue Sky due out on March 17 2014.

Swaying Wires is an alternative folk/rock band based in Turku, Finland.

Fear Of Flying is a wonderful, blissful folk song which features angelic, breath-taking vocals from Kärkinen. Kärkinen’s vocals will send a shiver down your spine; her range is explored and her notes cascade over the acoustic guitar perfectly. The music is basic but this has a greater effect letting the beautiful lyrics take centre stage, “After all that’s all it was/A fear of flying/As I finally stagger out/I will make it home somehow/I’ll meet you there/Keep a brave face/As the sky falls/Into pieces down before you/And the ground below you…When the storm arrives/I’ll meet you there”.

What began as a one woman project by Tina Kärkinen in 2008 developed into a full band in 2010 with members Sami Lehtonen and Nicklas Hägen.

After playing as a trio for a while, performing around Turku, the band finally found a drummer in Timo Harju. The newly formed quartet subsequently started recording some demo songs that would later form the nucleus of their debut album. Harju left the band shortly after the recording of these demos to pursue other interests. He was replaced by Jussi Virkkumaa who had previously played in another band together with Sami.

In the summer of 2012, Swaying Wires started recording what would become their first full-length album, Some Blue Sky. The album is a collection of songs written between 2008 to 2013 and was recorded in the band’s rehearsal space.

March 2014 will see the culmination of this work when the band releases their debut, Some Blue Sky, through Battle Worldwide Recordings.

Fear Of Flying will be released on February 10.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, News, Reviews