Swearin’ To Release New Album, Surfing Strange

Wichita Recordings have announced that they will be releasing the brand new album by Philadelphia indie punks, Swearin’. The album titled Surfing Strange will be released on November 4 and will be available on CD/DL/Vinyl.

The band have also posted a brand new track Watered Down that features on Surfing Strange.



Formed in 2011 in Brooklyn, Allison Crutchfield (guitar) and Kyle Gilbride (guitar) had been making demos for nearly a year before inviting Keith Spencer (bass) into the equation. The trio eventually added longtime friend and Philadelphia resident Jeff Bolt on drums, releasing their demo EP, What a Dump, shortly thereafter. The demo received instant praise from Brooklyn’s indie punk scene and beyond.

In 2012, Swearin’ released their debut self-titled LP on Salinas Records. This record will also be released in the UK and Europe on 21 October by Wichita.  The album caught the ears of all at Wichita Recordings in London who will give the record its first official release outside of North America.

If Swearin’s sample track Watered down is typical, the music is more accessible than their indie punk tag suggests. It’s actually quite sweet with the vulnerable lyrics illustrated by the refrain, “My head is up in the willows/And I know why you are lying”.

Swearin’ will be bringing their live show across the Atlantic for the first time this October when they head out in support of Waxahatchee across Europe.

You can catch Swearin’ live on the following dates in October:
19 – Gathering Festival, Oxford (Tickets: http://gatheringfestival.tumblr.com)
20 – SWN Festival, Cardiff (Tickets: http://swnfest.com/tickets/)
21 – Shacklewell Arms, London (Headline show) http://www.shacklewellarms.com/listings/eventdetails/21-oct-13-swearin-the-shacklewell-arms/
22 – Scala, London (Tickets: http://www.seetickets.com/event/waxahatchee/scala/718269 )
23 – Heartattack & Vine, Newcastle (Tickets: http://www.ents24.com/newcastle-events/heartattack-and-vine) 24 – Broadcast, Glasgow (Tickets: http://www.pclpresents.com )
25 – Sound Control, Manchester (Tickets: http://www.nowwave.co.uk)
26 – Workman’s Club, Dublin (Tickets: http://www.tickets.ie/event.aspx/waxahatchee-the-workmans-club-26-October-2013/29QZ7)
28 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds (Tickets:http://www.seetickets.com/Event/WAXAHATCHEE/Brudenell-Social-Club/723987 )
29 – Green Door Store, Brighton (Tickets: http://www.seetickets.com/event/waxahatchee/the-green-door-store/724102)

Surfing Strange will be available to buy from November 4 2013.

By Kate Dexter

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s